New Voter Guide Highlights Where NY Candidates Stand on Abortion

October 24, 2018
Contact: Stephanie Reichin
E: [email protected]
C: 617.549.3745

The National Institute for Reproductive Health (NIRH) Action Fund and NIRH Action Fund PAC released a new voter guide, equipping voters with information necessary to elect leaders that will advance reproductive health, rights, and justice

NEW YORK – As the Trump administration continues its attacks on reproductive rights and access to abortion at the federal level, the National Institute for Reproductive Health (NIRH) Action Fund and NIRH Action Fund PAC released a new voter guide to arm voters with the information necessary to elect candidates that will stand up for New York values and protect reproductive freedom. The voter guide includes a list of candidates, their political affiliations, their stance on abortion access, and whether NIRH Action Fund or NIRH Action Fund PAC has officially endorsed them.

“The President and Congress have waged war on many of our fundamental rights, including the right to abortion, which is now at unprecedented grave risk. New York State Senate has neglected to pass the Reproductive Health Act and make New York the beacon for reproductive freedom that it must be, which is especially critical as the protections afforded by Roe v. Wade hang in the balance,” said NIRH Action Fund and NIRH Action Fund PAC President Andrea Miller. “This November, New York has the opportunity to elect candidates that reflect our values and will fight to advance policies that protect a woman’s ability to decide when and if she wants a family. With just two weeks until election day, we are working to inform voters and help elect reproductive champions for New York.”

Below is a complete list of NIRH Action Fund and Action Fund PAC endorsements.

NIRH Action Fund PAC:


Governor & Lieutenant. Governor

Governor: Andrew Cuomo*

Lt. Governor: Kathy Hochul*


Attorney General

Letitia James



Tim DiNapoli*


State Senate

SD 02 Kathleen Cleary

SD 03 Monica Martinez

SD 04 Lou D’Amaro

SD 05 James Gaughran

SD 07 Anna Kaplan

SD 08 John E. Brooks*

SD 09 Todd Kaminsky*

SD 11 John Liu

SD 12 Michael Gianaris*

SD 13 Jessica Ramos

SD 14 Leroy Comrie*

SD 16 Toby Ann Stavisky*

SD 19 Roxanne Persaud*

SD 20 Zellnor Myrie

SD 21 Kevin Parker*

SD 22 Andrew S. Gounardes

SD 25 Velmanette Montgomery*

SD 27 Brad Hoylman*

SD 28 Liz Krueger*

SD 29 Jose Serrano*

SD 31 Robert Jackson

SD 32 Luis Sepulveda*

SD 33 Gustavo Rivera*

SD 34 Alessandra Biaggi

SD 35 Andrea Stewart-Cousins*

SD 37 Shelley Mayer*

SD 39 James G. Skoufis

SD 40 Peter Harckham

SD 41 Karen Smythe

SD 42 Jen Metzger

SD 43 Aaron Gladd

SD 44 Neil Breslin*

SD 45 Emily Martz

SD 46 Pat Strong

SD 49 Michelle Ostrelich

SD 50 John Mannion

SD 53 Rachel May

SD 55 Jennifer Lunsford

SD 56 Jeremy Cooney

SD 60 Carima El-Behairy

SD 63 Timothy M. Kennedy*


State Assembly

AD 01 Fred Thiele*

AD 04 Steven Englebright*

AD 06 Phil Ramos*

AD 10 Steve Stern*

AD 11 Kimberly Jean Pierre*

AD 13 Charles Lavine*

AD 22 Michaelle C. Solages*

AD 23 Stacey Pheffer Amato*

AD 24 David Weprin*

AD 25 Nily Rozic*

AD 26 Edward Braunstein*

AD 28 Andrew Hevesi*

AD 29 Alicia Hyndman*

AD 31 Michele Titus*

AD 32 Vivian Cook*

AD 35 Jeffrion Aubry*

AD 36 Aravella Simotas*

AD 37 Catherine Nolan*

AD 39 Catalina Cruz

AD 40 Ron Kim*

AD 41 Helene Weinstein*

AD 42 Rodneyse Bichotte*

AD 43 Diana Richardson*

AD 44 Robert Carroll*

AD 45 Steven Cymbrowitz*

AD 51 Felix Ortiz*

AD 52 Jo Anne Simon*

AD 53 Maritza Davila*

AD 57 Walter Mosley*

AD 58 Nick Perry*

AD 61 Charles Fall

AD 64 Adam Baumel

AD 65 Yuh-Line Niou*

AD 66 Deborah Glick*

AD 67 Linda Rosenthal*

AD 69 Daniel O’Donnell*

AD 72 Carmen De La Rosa*

AD 73 Dan Quart*

AD 74 Harvey Epstein*

AD 75 Richard Gottfried*

AD 77 Latoyra Joyner*

AD 78 Jose Rivera*

AD 79 Michael Blake*

AD 81 Jeffrey Dinowitz*

AD 82 Michael Benedetto*

AD 83 Carl Heastie*

AD 84 Carmen E. Arroyo*

AD 86 Victor Pichardo*

AD 87 Karines Reyes

AD 88 Amy Paulin*

AD 89 J. Gary Pretlow*

AD 91 Steven Otis*

AD 92 Tom Abinanti*

AD 93 David Buchwald*

AD 95 Sandy Galef*

AD 97 Ellen Jaffee*

AD 99 Matthew Rettig

AD 100 Aileen Gunther*

AD 101 Chad McEvoy

AD 103 Kevin Cahill*

AD 106 Didi Barrett*

AD 107 Tistrya Houghtling

AD 108 John T. McDonald III*

AD 109 Patricia Fahy*

AD 110 Philip Steck*

AD 113 Carrie Woerner

AD 116 Addie Jenne*

AD 120 Gail Tosh

AD 123 Donna Lupardo*

AD 125 Barbara Lifton*

AD 127 Al Stirpe*

AD 128 Pamela Hunter*

AD 129 William Magnarelli*

AD 130 Scott Comegys

AD 136 Jamie Romeo

AD 137 David F. Gantt*

AD 138 Harry Bronson*

AD 141 Crystal People-Stokes*

AD 143 Monica Wallace*

AD 149 Sean Ryan*


NIRH Action Fund:


United States Senate

Kirsten Gillibrand


United States Congress

CD 01 Perry Gershon

CD 02 Liuba Grechen Shirley

CD 04 Kathleen Rice*

CD 05 Gregory Meeks*

CD 06 Grace Meng*

CD 07 Nydia Velazquez*

CD 08 Hakeem Jeffries*

CD 09 Yvette Clarke*

CD 10 Jerrold Nadler*

CD 12 Carolyn Maloney*

CD 13 Adriano Espaillat*

CD 15 Jose Serrano*

CD 16 Elliot Engel*

CD 17 Nita Lowey*

CD 18 Sean Patrick Maloney*

CD 19 Antonio Delgado

CD 20 Paul Tonko*

CD 21 Tedra Cobb

CD 23 Tracy Mitrano

CD 24 Dana Balter

CD 25 Joe Morelle

CD 26 Brian Higgins*

CD 27 Nate McMurray

*indicates incumbent candidate


The NIRH Action Fund PAC makes endorsements in New York State to advance reproductive health, rights, and justice across the state.

The NIRH Action Fund conducts nonpartisan advocacy and electoral engagement to advance reproductive freedom in states and cities across the country.