NIRH Congratulates Reproductive Freedom Champions’ Victories in New Mexico State Primary

June 7, 2018
Contact: Katherine Schneider
E: [email protected]
C: (949) 929-7245

The following is a statement from the National Institute for Reproductive Health Action Fund President Andrea Miller

New York – Today, Andrea Miller, President of the National Institute for Reproductive Health Action Fund, released the following statement applauding the candidates who pulled through in crucial races – specifically, Debra Haaland (CD1), Xochitl Torres Small (CD2), Congresswoman Michelle Lujan Grisham (candidate for Governor), State Representative Patricia Roybal Caballero (HD13), Micaela Lara Cadena (HD33), Christine Chandler (HD43), and Andrea Romero (HD46) – all of whom are champions for reproductive health, rights, and justice.

“Voters in New Mexico signaled their strong support for access to all forms of reproductive health care, including abortion, by sending candidates with strong records on these issues to the general election this fall,” said Andrea Miller, President of the National Institute for Reproductive Health Action Fund. “New Mexico is leading the country forward with candidates who will work tirelessly to defend a women’s right and ability to make decisions about their reproductive lives that shape their and their families’ futures. New Mexicans made a strong statement about pride in the state’s majority-minority status by moving forward four women of color in contested primary elections, including voting for Debra Haaland, who will be the first Native American woman in Congress if she wins the general election.”




The NIRH Action Fund conducts nonpartisan advocacy and electoral engagement to advance reproductive freedom in states and cities across the country. Candidates listed are endorsed by Planned Parenthood Votes New Mexico and supported by reproductive health, reproductive justice, and allied groups across New Mexico.